A Migratory of the Coasts

It took me a while until I posted this,  due to many different reasons. One reason is that I am having my Trimestral Exams this week, and I had to do some studying. I actually put in mind not posting it at all, but of course you, my loyal readers, would not like that. I took the thought of not posting this out of my mind, and started typing.

I put my head down and peeked into the bush, something was moving inside, wagging its tail slightly. It was obviously a wader, a bit grayish-brown. I slowly got closer to the unknown bird, but then I flushed it. No matter, I was still able to see it quite enough to ID it. It was another Common Sandpiper.

There were relatively six species that were very common there that Sunday afternoon. The first two were too obvious, which were the Little Egret and Black-crowned Night Heron. The White-collared Kingfisher was very common, every minute we would at least see two White-collared Kingfishers fly in front of us and we would usually hear its loud call. Little Herons were more common today than all the other days we have been there, and so were Pacific Swallows.

The other bird was a bit of a surprise for me to see so many; Common Sandpipers, everywhere. The migration season is really starting to come out of its shell, and reveal itself. A month ago, I have never even seen a Common Sandpiper, but now here I am in LPPCHEA seeing dozens of them flying over the water occasionally landing on the shore or on rocks or boulders, hiding behind them making it hard for me and my Dad to see them.

Other than those birds we also spotted some others as well. The Yellow Bittern stayed in its usual spot, but it ran away once it saw me and my Dad coming closer. Deeper in LPPCHEA, we saw some electrical wires and on them were more birds. We first saw some Spotted Doves on these wires, they would occasionally drop on the ground and feed, I think. My Dad also saw a green bird looking like a parakeet. It looked like an escaped pet bird and it was not in the Kennedy Guide so we suspected that it was.

Going back to the neared side of LPPCHEA, we decided to go in what Ivan Sarenas (WBCP member) calls the Tiklingan” “Place of the Barred Rails”. We went inside and saw some Pied Fantails, hopping about and fanning their tails. We spotted one Barred Rail which flew immediately after sensing us coming. Once we reached what I think was the DENR station, we really wanted to see a lot of birds in the lagoon, sadly I think the yapping of the dog scared all the birds away.

Deeper inside we heard a very awful noise that I know, but cannot recall. We slowly tip-toed to where we heard them and at the sight of the bird, I remembered the call. It was the unpleasant call of the White-breasted Waterhen. One glimpse of it, then when it realized it was being stalked on; It ran into the vegetation.

We returned back to our car, the last birds we saw were Glossy Swiftlets as they flew above our heads, then the bats came out and replaced all the birds. I was very happy today because it was just the start of the migration season and already, migratory birds were everywhere. Excitement ran through my veins at the thought of what I will see once the migration season has reached its peak.

Bird List

  1. Little Egret
  2. Black-crowned Night Heron
  3. White-collared Kingfisher
  4. Little Heron
  5. Pacific Swallow
  6. Common Sandpiper
  7. Spotted Dove
  8. Yellow Bittern
  9. Barred Rail
  10. White-breasted Waterhen
  11. Pied Fantail
  12. Glossy Swiftlet
One response to this post.

  1. exciting times to see the migrations ….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Ambicerebro

When both sides of the brain collide

Celestial Green Ventures

Amazon Rainforest REDD+ Conservation

Birding Around the World

Birdwatching travel with a twist of fun!

The Bio Infos

All about living beings

Ricebirder

Blogging about Birding and other such stuff.

God Girl Gail

God's Nature Lessons

Transplanted Tatar

Travel of the hidden-treasure variety

How To Spy On Birds

Sharing the pleasures of birding.

kaysbirdclub.wordpress.com/

a place for hats, birds, murals, running, and more...

Muddy Tracks

wishing I could spend more time outdoors

Lee's Birdwatching Adventures Plus

Birdwatching from a Christian Perspective

birds&pets&wildlife

For the Love of Wildlife,Pets & The Great Outdoors

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

Wren's Nest

My life as a field biologist. Sanity, I miss you.

ofbirdsandb.wordpress.com/

The creative study of birds through art, photography, and writing

Chara Photographics

Random photo thoughts...

pindanpost

weather, climate, environment, energy, horticulture

Out, about and home

Photos from out, about and home

