Noisy as Wind

Passerine

“A passerine is a bird of the order Passeriformes, which includes more than half of all bird species. Sometimes known as perching birds or, less accurately, as songbirds, the passerines form one of the most diverse terrestrial vertebrate orders.”

The rain gave its best to stop us from birding, but the rain is not enough keep me from my passion. I woke up early in the morning excited to see the birds we would find later, this was one of the earliest times I woke up in my life. We drove to La Mesa Dam Ecopark while the rain kept pouring, then it lessened a bit as we got closer to our destination. Me and Tristan (Cousin) went directly to the View Deck to check if there were still birds there. Usually birding in the View Deck was easy, I got my first raptor there, but today, sadly all we saw was a Zebra Dove.

Near the entrance of Ecopark, we saw Kuya Jops and Ate Maia (WBCP memebers) were getting their stuff ready. We were happy to see them, it has been a while since we saw each other. I was so excited to bird especially to see the Ashy Ground-thrush and the Pittas. The last time we went here, we were just very new to birding and didn’t see that much, only common birds.

We went through the long path of the entrance, then stopped midway for this was usually the are were the Ashy Ground-thrush stays. We kept our eyes open, our ears sharp and our binoculars ready. I see some Lowland White-eyes fly above us, from tree top to tree top, and hear Golden-bellied Flyeaters calling in a distance. We went down into the path and saw nothing out of the ordinary; we then decided to enter the Nature Trail to find birds. My family decided to stay behind, in a bahay kubo “nipa hut”. Me, Tristan, Kuya Jops and Ate Maia entered the Nature Trail, but before even entering, we saw an Oriental Magpie-Robin. Lifer for me :).

The Nature Trail was absolutely amazing; I felt like I’m in a forest somewhere in the province, but sometimes the sound of the road beside the trail would ruin the moment. We started by trying to find birds on the ground, then Kuya Jops found an Ashy Ground-thrush on the tree trunk. I tried to look for it, but never saw it myself. A glossy greenish bird then showed itself walking on the trail itself. Kuya Jops confirmed it as a Common Emerald Dove, it was so beautiful with its shiny feathers. Lifer again 🙂

We were annoyed by the Pittas in the area, because they keep calling and we try so hard to find them, but never do. I would hear a Black-naped Oriole giving it’s warning call once and a while, and curious if it’s calling because of us or a predator. While looking for the Pittas, I saw what I thought was a Lowland White-eye,  but as I looked closer, it had an orange breast. I was so curios on what it was, I asked Ate Maia and she said excitedly “Mangrove Blue Flycatcher”. I was so happy, I could scream, I was nearly jumping up and down. We tried calling Tistan, but when he came it unfortunately flew away :(. I still got a Lifer though :).

After that, it was just the usual common birds again, but I was already content with the Mangrove Blue Flycatcher. The Trail was noisy with other birds, like Tailorbirds, White-eared Brown Doves, Pittas, etc., but we can’t find the birds making the calls. The rain showered so hard already, and my cousins still had to go somewhere else. We had to leave La Mesa Ecopark, but I was more than happy to get three Lifers and spot many other birds.

BIRD LIST

  1. Zebra Dove
  2. Lowland White-eye
  3. Pied Fantail
  4. Oriental Magpie-robin
  5. Yellow-vented Bulul
  6. Common Emerald Dove
  7. Black-naped Oriole
  8. Mangrove Blue Flycatcher
2 responses to this post.

  1. Congratulations on your three lifers! Let’s go birding again soon… in better weather =P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Ambicerebro

When both sides of the brain collide

Celestial Green Ventures

Amazon Rainforest REDD+ Conservation

Birding Around the World

Birdwatching travel with a twist of fun!

The Bio Infos

All about living beings

Ricebirder

Blogging about Birding and other such stuff.

God Girl Gail

God's Nature Lessons

Transplanted Tatar

Travel of the hidden-treasure variety

How To Spy On Birds

Sharing the pleasures of birding.

kaysbirdclub.wordpress.com/

a place for hats, birds, murals, running, and more...

Muddy Tracks

wishing I could spend more time outdoors

Lee's Birdwatching Adventures Plus

Birdwatching from a Christian Perspective

birds&pets&wildlife

For the Love of Wildlife,Pets & The Great Outdoors

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

Wren's Nest

My life as a field biologist. Sanity, I miss you.

ofbirdsandb.wordpress.com/

The creative study of birds through art, photography, and writing

Chara Photographics

Random photo thoughts...

pindanpost

weather, climate, environment, energy, horticulture

Out, about and home

Photos from out, about and home

