My 100th Lifer

Hurrying through the busy roads on the way to UP were me and my driver. I was late for the Guided Trip which started an hour before I arrived. I missed some good birds like the Coppersmith Barbet and the White-collared Kingfisher. I have seen both before, but seeing them again would be nice. My goal actually for today was to reach my 100th lifer, being at 98 I was determined to see 2 new birds today.

I missed this so much, being with the WBCP. It’s more fun, even happier when they’re around, and most of all, easier to see birds. We started off, or at least I started off, at the side of the road, since they were already there when I caught up with them, but the original meeting place was near the UP Main Library.

We saw a lot of Brown Shrikes, and Philippine Pygmy Woodpeckers on the trees at the side of the road, while on the road were hundreds of joggers completely unaware of their presence. When you look up, you could see Lowland White-eyes and Golden-bellied Flyeaters high-up on the tree tops. We were unprepared for the next surprise, a raptor that is somewhat white in plumage. It came and went in a matter of seconds.

We entered a slightly forested area, the UP Lagoon. The place was crawling, well… flying, with Brown Shrikes and Yellow-vented Bulbuls. Some birders finally spotted my 99th lifer. They showed me the bird, and it kept flying around but in the same area, so we were still able to follow it. It was an immature Brush Cuckoo eating a very hairy caterpillar we Filipinos call “Higad”.

It flew away, but luckily everyone in the group, including the participants to the Guided Trip, saw it. We then continued out the Lagoon, but not without seeing two cute Zebra Doves on the path. It was almost time to go, but we still had one stop left. Ate Maia (WBCP mamber) told me that it was a sure sighting of my 100th lifer in that area.

Sure enough, it was. Immediately when we got there, the others were already pointing at a Mango Tree. It took me a while, but I finally saw it. A Philippine Nightjar roosting on a branch at plain view. We woke it up from its sleep, but it soon went back to sleep when it figured that we weren’t a threat.

Philippine Nightjar <Photo by Jun Osano>
100th Lifer!!!

I was so thrilled to see my 100th lifer, but sad that I had to go home already. I looked at my fellow WBCP members, and well… I will miss them. It has been a while since I saw them, but now that I was birding with them again I had so much fun. It’s true that birding is more fun with more people, especially with people who are more¬†experienced¬†than you are because you learn from them, and it’s fun to be able to share stories with each other. I just hope there will be a next WBCP activity very soon.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Congratulations on reaching your 100th lifer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Ambicerebro

When both sides of the brain collide

Celestial Green Ventures

REDD+ Forest Conservation Projects

Bird Watching with Marie Louise

Birding around the Globe

A Place Called Love

I wish you Peace and Joy

The Bio Infos

All about living beings

Ricebirder

Blogging about Birding and other such stuff.

God Girl Gail

God's Nature Lessons

Transplanted Tatar

Travel of the hidden-treasure variety

How To Spy On Birds

Sharing the pleasures of birding.

a place for hats, birds, murals, running, and more...

Muddy Tracks

wishing I could spend more time outdoors

Lee's Birdwatching Adventures Plus

Birdwatching from a Christian Perspective

birds&pets&wildlife

For the Love of Wildlife,Pets & The Great Outdoors

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

Wren's Nest

My life as a field biologist. Sanity, I miss you.

The creative study of birds through art, photography, and writing

Chara Photographics

Random photo thoughts...

pindanpost

weather, climate, environment, energy, horticulture

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

